#13 International Recognition of Women

Who Rules The World? GIRLS!

A few years back I was at a friend’s engagement party, and every time Beyonce yelled out her defining lyrics, the DJ replaced the word “Girls” with his toneless “Boys.”

He was unrelenting. This prehistoric creature couldn’t take the lyrical prose, and even staked his own reputation as a professional DJ to petty himself over a song.

Beyonce must have hit a sore spot in him. Go back to your cave dude. We don’t need your type here.

Today is a celebration of the place that women hold in society, what they have achieved, and how far we have come in the face of unfair bias.

I don’t like to place too much emphasis on this day, only because I believe by this stage we really should be far beyond the ‘Celebrate Women’ era of this day and age, and not have to make further mention of it. I mean, it should be normal really. Women should be given equal rights, and celebrated for who they are, on a daily basis. This should be a given, as regular as time shifting forward minute by minute; as routine as the Moon lowering itself to make way for the Sun rising up.

Unfortunately, there are still parts of the world where women aren’t given the same rights (generally) that they are in the Western World.

This can be due to some outdated cavemen views – however a lot of the time the prehistoric viewpoints needs to first start with ourselves. As women, we need to know our worth and value it, and not continually lay blame on the man, or complain that we are not given fair treatment because of him.

Blame is spread amongst us all. But today is not about blame, it’s about celebration, and moving forward. So as Michael Jackson said, “I’m starting with the Woman in the mirror.”

(Slight modification by me).

It’s due to this that we should place further awareness of this important day, in order for those other parts of the world, those ‘cavemen,’ and likewise any unintentionally or not, abiding cavewomen, to catch up, and smell the coffee roasting from the beans that we bought ourselves.

And listen to some Beyonce. In lack of an ipod, I’m sure we can arrange someone to draw Beyonce kicking arse on their cave walls…

I’m grateful to be in a part of the world where generally, we as women, ARE EQUAL. Let’s expand on this peeps. To all the women in my life: My Mum, my Sister, my Cousins, my Friends, and my Daughter… you all inspire me. I’m grateful for your role in my life, and I hope I can do the same.

Let’s keep kicking arse. Freedom, is what it’s all about.

 

One thought on “#13 International Recognition of Women

Leave a Reply

