#39 Impending Darkness

This is a really, truly, left-of-centre one for me. I crave long days and warm nights, glaring horizons with birds sitting prettily on fences absorbing the most picturesque of days. But in recent years, I’ve grown to appreciate the colder months, the shorter days, becoming grateful for that momentary intermission from constantly being out, on the go, and doing something ALWAYS.

Don’t get me wrong: I will always love the sun. Like the planet I am born under, and the animal designated to my sign, it will always be the warmth. Always. But today, as the clocks moved back signalling the end of the man-made Daylight Savings Time, meaning the light faded much earlier this evening, until it will recess further up to that short day in June, well, I almost welcomed it. It’s nice to be busy and social, but busy is busy, and in the shorter days of the coldest months, I revel in being able to sit at home and hibernate like a bear, drinking coffee/tea/coffee, eating bikkies, wrapped in multiple layers of clothing and blankets, heater blaring, doing nothing but…

Well writing, of course.

Wait a minute. I am a Mum. Once more –

I revel in being able to sit at home and hibernate like a bear, drinking coffee/tea/coffee, eating bikkies, wrapped in multiple layers of clothing and blankets, heater blaring, doing nothing but…

thinking of how well I could write at that moment if I wasn’t entertaining a two-year old.

And I wouldn’t change a thing. 🙂

One thought on “#39 Impending Darkness

Leave a Reply

