(#50) The A-Z April Challenge: L – Lebanese Tahini Salad

Firstly, can I say, 50?! WOW. I am rapt to have come this far. Now to make it all the other days of my life… šŸ˜‰

Back to my gratitude blog, and the A-Z challenge. Salads are so bloody boring, well the ones I tend to make anyway. I spend more time on meats and carbs and other fine things, so when I whip up a salad I do mostly 3 ingredients, 3 dressing items, and voila. Everyday boring salad.

Hubbie bought radishes a week ago when he did theĀ grocery shopping, and said “I want you to put some radishes in the salad for me.” I must remember to drop a catalogue of diamond rings in front of him before my birthday and say “I bought these advertisements, I want you to put one in my bedroom for me.”

Anyway, challenge accepted. I was looking up recipes containing radishes, and happened across one called ‘Tahini salad.’ Now, silly me, I actually have a whole recipe book dedicated to Lebanese food thatĀ I bought post our incredible Bayte experience a few Valentine’s Days ago. It probably has at least a dozen ways to use Tahini. Not sure about the radishes, but next time I’ll use a recipe from that book.

So I used this onlineĀ recipe to make this incredible salad, and it only re-instated to me how much I fell in love with Lebanese food a couple of years ago. The Tahini salad listed below sings with the vibrant and flavourful combinations of garlic, lemon, tahini, combined with freshly cut mint and parsley that isĀ mixed through with vegetables. This salad, in vocal terms, is an opera singer. I’ve shot myself in the foot here, because now I can’t go back to boring old salads.

So naturally, I’m pretty grateful for this salad. Salad can be an interesting side dish too – can you believe it?!

Lebanese Tahini Salad

2016-04-14 19.37.05

Ingredients: (Serves about 2-3 as a side dish)

2 cucumbers diced

1 large tomato diced

3 small radishes diced

Half a spring onion (the recipe called for ‘green onion,’ spring onion is what I had in the fridge), sliced

A bunch of parsley, to your liking, chopped

10 mint leaves, chopped

Dressing:

olive oil, a few teaspoons

salt

one garlic clove, minced

Half a lemon, squeezed

1 tablespoon of Tahini

Method:

Combine all the salad and herb ingredients in a bowl. In another small bowl, mix up your dressing together. Modify the quantity, consistency and taste to your liking. Once happy, add it to your salad mixture: mix through. Cover the bowl and leave in the fridge for half an hour before serving. Then enjoy the flavours as they dance on your tastebudsĀ šŸ™‚

 

 

Leave a Reply

