(#65) The A-Z April Challenge: Y – Yonder

I will be doing something, anything, usually something routine like walking to the park, having a coffee, or driving in the car, and it is this habitual act where my mind wanders and I observe something, or think of someone, and a sentence and descriptions form that I believe would make a great line in one of my novels, somewhere. I may not know where to put it yet, it may not even have a purpose for the current book I’m working on, but just the act of writing it down makes me feel good. I write down all of these random one-liners, about things, people, and also nature, in a book, content and hopeful that one day I will find a great home for them in my writings.

Today I saw something in the distance while driving. The clouds up ahead were so distinct, so large and looming, that the sight made them almost look like mountains. Immediately a scene formed, and words sprung forth in my mind:

The large clouds rose up into the horizon like mountains, in stark contrast to the spotless sky above.

Hours later, as I’ve been going about my business and thinking about what to write for the ‘Y’ of the day, I remembered a word: yonder.

Yonder means ‘over there,’ ‘in sight but distant.’ I recalled my random scene describer of the mountainous clouds (just made up a word I think) being over there, and applied it.

The large clouds rose up like mountains in the yonder, in stark contrast to the spotless sky above.

It made me LOL a little. I still prefer my original, but I am grateful for the inspired thoughts I have. I’m grateful when I get them here. And I’m grateful when I get them yonder.

One thought on “(#65) The A-Z April Challenge: Y – Yonder

Leave a Reply

