#92 Candle inspiration

Today I wrote. By candle light, I wrote, and created.

2016-05-26 17.32.54

Inspired by something I had read in Rubin’s The Happiness Project, I liked the idea suggested by her of using something such as a candle, as a common ritual when starting to write, and used time and time again can help you write and get into the right headspace.

Today, something was telling me to do ‘my book.’ Not catch up on my blog, my food reviews or book reviews, not even to write letters… but to work on my first work of love and dedication. I’ve been fearful that the idea had left me (an idea suggested by Gilbert in Big Magic, a book to be reviewed in the near future), but I think it was more that I was stuck in a chapter where I didn’t know where else to go. And today, by the light of my Mozi candle light, I started a new one.

Coconut and Pineapple. That’s the scent. It’s fresh, gentle and sweet, refreshing and calming yet uplifting too. I’ve used it when I’m either editing or writing ‘my book,’ so as to associate that smell solely with my most personal of writing projects. I use it when I need to get down to business. So far it’s worked.

So, what am I grateful for today? I’m grateful that the idea has not left me; I’m grateful that the writing flowed as it did this evening; I’m also grateful for my little writing space, in the corner of our kitchen looking out onto the greenery in our yard; but also I’m so grateful that a little candle helped me find my way.

Because even though I didn’t know where to go, when I started writing, the words came. And that’s the moment when I breathed a sigh of relief.

Leave a Reply

