#104 A flashbop of musical proportions

How awesome was it, this morning when I was driving into work just after 6am, all rainy and dark and cold, that I got a major, surprising, musical flashbop?

I mean back. Flashback.

Listening to my current fave morning crew, Matt and Meshel (or you can call them SHATT) their first segment of the day starting at 6am begins with each of them having an old, usually forgotten but awesome song, and each day a listener is able to pick, which of the two songs should be played in full.

First option from Matt – Because I got highAfroman.

Oooh, I thought. This is an goodie! Memories of my late teens, and oddly enough, being in a Macca’s car park (I didn’t really frequent them that much) appeared in the forefront of my mind.

Surely that song is gonna win.

Then Meshel’s pick started, and my eyes widened in shock.

Mmm bopHanson.

WOW. What a blast from the past. I had been obsessed, to put it super-lightly, with this 3 group band of brothers, since they had burst onto the music scene at the tender ages of 11, 13 and 16. (I really do know these things).

  • I loved Taylor (the middle one).
  • I knew all the words to their songs.
  • At one point my Mum threatened me, in a particularly moody phase of mine, that she would rip down the Hanson posters I had plastered all over my wall where not one bit of white wall was visible, while I was at school so I couldn’t stop her. This put me into a state of unbelievable panic.
  • I cried when I learnt they would be making a shopping appearance in Melbourne at the height of their popularity, and I would be missing it because I was overseas on holiday. First world problems, I know. But this is the life of a hyperactive, overdramatic, super-sensitive teen.

I was so into them, that it actually became a surprise when not even 2 years later, I found myself slowly fading out of them. It happened as they were having a musical break, and also as another boy band entered the scene to grab my musical and lustful attentions: 5ive.

I allowed myself to fall slowly out of love with them, quite maturely actually. However, I have never forgotten them, their songs or my clear dedication (putting it nicely) to them.

Which is why this morning, I was able to sing loudly along to their first number one hit, as the words are so definitely engraved into my brain.

“So hold on to the ones who really care

In the end they’ll be the only ones there,

When you get old and start losing your hair

Can you tell me who will still care?”

and then some more:

“Mmm bop, ba doobee da

Ba doo bop

Doo wee bop bop do wop

Ba doo be dop ba doo…

Said oh yeah

In an mmm bop they’re gone… yeah yeah, yeah yeah.”

Despite my bopping around the car, swaying my head crazily from side to side, singing at the top of my lungs to the music blasting through the car, smiling like a stupid teen again, those latter lyrics really struck me. I’d always known them. But suddenly, I was looking at them from the perspective of someone who knew what death was about.

In an mmm bop they’re gone.

Back in the day, I would sing the song, I would understand the lyrics, but I didn’t really feel them. I didn’t really know what it was about.

I was really surprised at this sudden realisation. It’s the feeling you get when you go back to an old movie, or an old book you haven’t read in years, and suddenly the meaning is all different. You get something more, something deeper out of your old fave, and begin to appreciate it in a brand new and much more profound way. It may be that a line resonates with you now, or a scene that plays out is so like something you know in your life, that you are dumbfounded. Spell bound. In awe at this medium portraying your life, your experiences, as you know it.

In an mmm bop they’re gone.

How could 3 teenage boys sing words of such meaning, camouflaged in such a boppy song? How ahead were they, at that time, to know what that meant? What horrible experience made them pen that sad, but true line.

In an mmm bop they’re gone.

I continued mmm bopping along, yelling loudly in my car, as the words sunk in again, but this time on a deeper level.

I was happy my grateful moment came so early today. It’s a good day when that happens.

I give Hanson so much more credit now. Maybe I wasn’t just a silly, moody teen… Maybe I actually had some clue.

2 thoughts on “#104 A flashbop of musical proportions

Leave a Reply

