#115 Sweet treats via the blogging hemisphere

Today I was excited to try a new doughnut recipe, given to me by Jess over at Eat. Travel. Blog. I recently read about her WIP cookbook, that she has been putting together over the last few years which have been inspired by her travels, and was keen to get involved when she made one last call out to any ‘testers’ volunteering their time to experiment with her recipes before their last boarding call to print!

Well, when I saw ‘chocolate-filled donuts’ as one of the test recipes, I was had at donuts. My only gripe being, doughnuts is spelt like that <, not like ^. However I’m not having a go at Jess, rather the Americans, yet I can’t complain since this recipe is a Chicago-based one. The grammar Nazi is put to bed here.

Anyway. So I tested it, assisted by a very adorable baby girl who insisted on rolling the dough and making doughnut circles from it, and as I got inventive using Kit Kats, Reese’s peanut butter cups AND marshmallows as the various filling ingredients, I got this type of beauty today:

2016-06-18 14.40.52

It’s not that I’m simply grateful for the doughnuts. I’m grateful that we can meet complete strangers off of this strange and unique blogging platform, share our stories, our dreams, our recipes; our sadness, our sorrow, our shit, and we can all learn so much from each other in the process.

I love it. We’re all in this same whirlwind of online exploration together, this experiment of never-ending proportions, and I gotta say, I’m pretty excited to be a part of it.

If you would also like to get involved in Jess’ cookbook testing and volunteer your time in the kitchen, or you wanna know when this cookbook with the damn donuts/doughnuts will come out, you can find the post in question here.

 

3 thoughts on “#115 Sweet treats via the blogging hemisphere

Leave a Reply

