#118 Shortest day marks re-birth of the Sun

It’s always a pleasant surprise when I am going through my day, this gratitude blog floating in the back of my mind, just waiting for something to happen, and then something does so that it jumps forth and goes ‘aha!’ Such a moment happened just minutes ago, as I discovered today is the shortest day of the year.

Today marks the Winter solstice in the Southern hemisphere.

As a Summer-loving gal, you just KNOW that I am grateful for this day, because being the shortest day today, only means the days are going to be getting longer and longer.

(Yes yes yes! Llyeton Hewitt style).

But then something else happened. I was focusing on the article I was reading about the solstice, and looking at the date: June 21.

Then it hit me. On this day, what seems like almost a lifetime ago, Hubbie and I got engaged.

So we got engaged on the Winter Solstice.

I read some more. Turns out that historically, in ancient times this turning point is considered the re-birth of the Sun, where a new spark of Hope is ignited. It makes sense: through the longest and darkest of nights, there come the promise of light, and new beginnings.

However, the fact that the days will get longer, does not mean that sunrise will come sooner in the day – not yet anyway. This is all to do with the fact that the Earth’s path around the Sun is not in a perfect circle, and also the Earth is off-centre on its axis (you can thank me for the lesson later).

I found all that info pretty damn cool, (no pun intended)… don’t you?

On that cold night of historical significance, we made a commitment to each other… we danced the night away with family and friends, smiled ’til our cheeks hurt, laughed, and wished, and Hoped, and promised, and looked forward to our future together.

The re-birth of the Sun. The promise of Hope. That suits me to a T. Actually, that sits perfectly with how I live my life.

 

Leave a Reply

