#249 Inspiring Fandom

Last night when the fam was over, I got into an unexpectedly awesome discussion with my teenage nephew. He started on the topic of vampire folklore in media, and when he mentioned a couple of various TV series/movies, I mean, I just couldn’t, NOT say a thing.

“Have you watched Angel/Buffy?!” (On an aside, only one of the most awesome shows EVER).

And I deliberately write Angel before Buffy, even though technically the show Buffy in fact spawned Angel – but that is a chicken-egg debate you DO NOT want to get into discussion with me about.

So, back to my nephew. He hadn’t watched it, but knew of it. And just as I listened as he broke down the gist of the TV series Teen Wolf, so too did he listen attentively as I explained some of the underlying themes of both series and how they varied.

He said, he wanted to watch Angel. Immediately. Not Buffy. I was like “look, you probably wanna watch Buffy seasons 1-3, and then start at Angel season 1 so you can truly appreciate the character/story-arcs.”

He said he would look it up on Netflix. We had a good old discussion, I got to let go of some Whedon-verse steam (it’s been so long since I’ve had someone to converse Joss Whedon shows with), and I went to bed happy, simply that I had connected with my nephew on an old-fave interest of mine. I felt like a cool aunty.

Today! While chatting to my sister this late morning, she says “guess who’s watching Buffy season 1?!”

Oh! Aghast! Really? He was really going to do it….

Then hours later, after I got home from work, another phone call… sis put me on the phone to him, and he said he had watched the entire first season of Buffy, and couldn’t handle it no more, so went straight to Angel… and LOVED it.

He is sooooo his Aunty’s nephew! I was proud, rapt, and thrilled all in one.

I have inspired fandom! And now I have my own Angel apprentice to mould, mentor, and make… mwa ha ha.

I am so excited. I am also grateful. I get to talk about one of my favourite shows with someone, and it’s my nephew so we get to bond over a shared interest in the process.

I have not talked Angel-talk in a LONG time. So when nephew followed with the questions:

“Who do you think would win in a fight – Angel or Buffy?” AND

“I’ve read about some Spike character online – is it true he’d beat Angel?”

I passionately responded:

“Angel – he has the super-human advantage,” AND

“No bloody way, that is a load of bullshit!”

It has begun:):):)

 

One thought on “#249 Inspiring Fandom

Leave a Reply

