#269 We went into 3 shops…

There is a whole swagger of gourmet, eccentric, specialty, exclusive and decorative shops running up the Main street. This is kind of like heaven to me. I would do almost anything to spend an indefinite amount of time on this strip, meandering around, taking my sweet, sweet time, thinking of what piece to buy for whom, interjecting it all with regular doses of caffeine and abundantly generous salad rolls thrown in between the designer, one-of-a-kind shops that are so prevalent beach-side.

However I am still, one month after moving here to our Sea change location, waiting to do the above.

In recent months, baby girl has become especially difficult when it comes to shopping. Unless we are going into a toy shop, or I am ordering something along the lines of “babycino with marshmallows” she will just not have it. She’ll outright refuse entry into said shop, will scream, and even has laid down on the ground when I have tried to pull her in.

You can imagine how this scene looks like. Desperate Mum pulling a screaming baby girl into a specialty high-end shop.

Yep. Screaming kid plus $$$ shop = not a good combo.

So half the time I give up. Go home. I’m a hopeful idiot. I swear against going out, and then the next day I think ‘maybe if I let her go on the playground first/go into the toy shop/buy her a babycino, she will let me go into some of those nice shops.’

I wager. I beg. I plead. I threaten. And most of the time, she gets all the above things, plus more, and I get Jack squat. Nothing. No shopping for me. Delaying her wishes of getting a babycino or going to the shopping centre playground doesn’t work either, because if I go into a shop I like first, it’s like she isn’t happy straight off the bat, and won’t do anything. I need to set her up, happy, to get a happy reaction later on.

Only I’m not getting a happy reaction later on. I’m just getting a disobedient one.

It’s really frustrating.

I woke up a hopeful idiot again today. I’ve been thinking about how when she is well-slept and well-fed, she is easier to manage.

So we went to the Main street. And in the car…

“Now baby girl. We are going to the BIG park. The BIG park, next to the beach!”

“Big Park!” she imitates.

“Yes. But you have to be a good girl, Mummy has to go into a few shops first, maybe 5, and you get to have biscuits… then we go to the BIG park, ok?”

“Yeah.” She nods.

“Remember? You have to be a good girl, and LISTEN to Mum… and you get biscuits! Then you get the park after some shops, ok?”

So, like my post title tells you, we went into 3 shops. I could have bought stuff in all 3 of them, but I didn’t. Baby steps. I’ll have to go back with Hubbie so he watches her while I secure those deals. But I did my Christmas research, had my longed-for sticky beak, and even though it was trying as I kept her curious hands from touching too much, instead filling them with mini rice puffs, I got to see 3 shops.

3 out of 300 (or so it seems).

Baby steps. I’m getting somewhere. Baby steps. I should finish my Christmas shopping by next May at this stage…

 

Leave a Reply

