#289 Leek, Mushroom and Ricotta Frittata

It’s really satisfying when you can throw a few simple ingredients together, and with some light and easy prep put together a really lovely, healthy, moorish and delicious meal.

A while ago I went through a bit of a ‘baked eggs’ phase, and I still am in it apparently. Which is why I was more than pleasantly rapt with the coincidental nature of the Universe, when in searching for a recipe to use up a lot of leeks my MIL gave us, I came across the above title.

Mmmm, and with egg? I was already winning.

imag2202

I made it last week, and today once again it came out of the oven looking scrumptious and puffy and golden. So easy too, that I don’t even need to refer to the ingredients or prep details to share with you…

  1. Slice up 2 leeks and about 300 grams of mushrooms, and put them in a frying pan with 50g of butter, melted. Fry and stir until most of the water has evaporated. The kitchen will be smelling delish by this stage.
  2. Lightly grease a baking dish – the one I used in the photo is a tad too big. Just grab a medium-size whatever and grease away.
  3. Pour your mushroom/leek mixture into the baking dish, top with about 200g of fresh ricotta (today I used the tub ricotta and spooned it all over the mixture, worked a treat) and then generously sprinkle over with salt and pepper.
  4. Whisk 6 eggs with half a cup of cream (like the thickened cream in the cold section of the supermarket). Pour this over everything in the baking dish, and pop in a pre-heated oven that’s doing 180 degrees if fan-forced, maybe 200 degrees if not.
  5. Bake for 15-20 or so, until golden and puffy. You will know! Trust me. My old oven takes slightly over 20 minutes at 200, so you just need to wing this a little…

imag2205

And enjoy!

Leave a Reply

