#293 Seasonal Music on the 13th day

On the 13th day of Christmas my true love gave to me… Buble and Carey in the form of CDs.

Well my true love didn’t really give them to me. I had them already, I just didn’t know where they were amidst the moving madness, and he pointed me in the right direction.

But I am ashamed to say, it has taken me 13 days into December to play any kind of Christmas music.

If you are new here, you may not know that I love Christmas, like, A LOT. And subsequently, I actually LOVE Christmas music too. Every year I can’t wait until December, not just because it is the beginning of the Christmas countdown, but it immediately becomes socially acceptable to play Christmas music.

I love the romance, the idealist nature and the fantasy of Christmas carols, both traditional and modern. And with my Michael Buble and Mariah Carey Christmas albums, they both showcase a wide range of both styles. Both with beautiful yet different voices, I love their personal takes on the classics, as I enjoy their inventive and new Christmas songs.

They both do a drastically different version of Mariah Carey’s classic, All I Want For Christmas Is You. Everyone knows Carey’s one as the upbeat Christmasy-spirit song, yet Buble’s version is almost indistinguishable: slow, melancholy, and I think his accurately portrays the proper tone and mood of the words in the song. I love both for different reasons.

(FACT: Did you know that All I Want For Christmas Is You was co-written by Mariah, and she gets big bucks from the royalties of the song every time Christmas rolls around?!)

So tonight, Buble’s album got one spin around the CD player, whereas Carey’s got a bit more airplay with about 2 and a half spins once we started on dinner.

There’ll be a lot more of that to compensate for in future nights 🙂

Next on the Christmas musical agenda: Wham!

Geez, I Love Christmas 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

