#295 Enjoying the lead-up

One of the things I love about Christmas is getting everything done. Getting it all done as soon as possible, before excitement turns into crazy rush, before buying presents turns into throwing money at salespeople, and before wrapping presents turns into paper flying everywhere.

Year by year I’ve been somewhat successfully managing to send out cards and buy and subsequently wrap presents, earlier, so that I can relax in the final week/days lead up.

This is what I love. The observing. The watching. The enjoying.

imag2252

I love sending my cards out early. I love knowing it will put a smile on people’s faces as they open up their mailboxes.

I love wrapping presents as early as I can. I love looking at the Christmas-coloured wrap and ribbon under our tree, taking it easy, and basking in the fact that I can enjoy all that Christmas has to offer.

Reflecting. Christmas songs. Baking Christmas goodies. Looking forward to time off work, and happy times spent with family. Eagerly anticipating the opening of the presents, excited about seeing baby girl’s face when she goes through hers.

Christmas is the best. Christmas through a child’s eyes is better.

So although I haven’t bought and wrapped ALL my presents yet, I have about half under the tree right now, and even now, I feel ‘Ahhh.’ Almost there.

But I don’t need to be ‘there’ yet. I like being here too. Enjoying and reflecting.

Leave a Reply

