#296 What he said

His Dad died. He was 31 when his Dad passed away at 61. Healthy and fit, vibrant and strong. His Dad passed away, and though the battle was long, it still took everyone by surprise.

I know he was a grown man when he lost his Dad. With a wife, and soon, a baby. But still. It was his Dad. And when his Dad passed, he lost not only his Father-Figure, but a best mate. An idol. A drinking buddy. A shared car enthusiast. A shared music lover. A shared dancing partner. He lost, a lot.

It was really, really, really hard.

It still is.

So when he speaks now, know that he’s gone through a lot. He sees life differently. He says,

Life will never be the same.

He will never be the same.

He doesn’t take crap anymore. He makes the most of everyday. “We’re all gonna die one day,” he says nonchalantly. He says it so neutrally, yet he lives each day as full as possible, with wishes, hopes and dreams, thinking BIG while working long hours, making lists of what he wants to do with his life, and looking forward to coming home to his family at the end of each long workday.

“I don’t need anything,” he says to his Mum tonight. “Those cars I love – I’ll sell them tomorrow. This great job – I’ll find another one if I have to. We just moved house – but if I have to, I’ll move in another 2 years.”

He goes on. “All those things are replaceable. I can change them whenever I want. After seeing what happened to Dad, I wanna change things as much as I can.”

“But,” he says with a hand raised in the air. “There’s one thing I don’t ever wanna change. My wife.”

I smile, and all of my soul smiles inwardly. I peek into the lounge area where Hubbie is sitting with his Mum. Grinning my face off.

Our eyes meet, and I nod in shared acknowledgement.

Leave a Reply

