#330 Blended Beard, & Boats

Have you ever had that moment, where you feel you are truly being appreciated? Where you are genuinely welcomed and made to feel special? Where someone is nice to you and you think ‘yes, this is what humans are meant to do for one another?’

Also, are you a caffeine addict?

And imagine now coffee lover… if a café gave you the above warm welcome when you walked through its doors?

???

My mind is still being blown from my morning coffee walk at work today. I walked into Blended Beard, listed as being my 2nd, almost equal 1st, café to coffee at in Docklands, which you can read about in my review of Docklands cafes here.

Anyway, this place has always been amazing. I’ve always preferred Story’s coffee down at the concourse, ever so slightly to theirs, but in the service department, the Bearded guys win, HANDS DOWN. They are always so friendly, lovely, warm and welcoming, and today’s experience just needed a mention in this blog, that’s how much it pleasantly surprised me.

So we enter, work mate and I. Greetings from the coffee making counter, lovely hellos, “Welcome guys,” and all that jazz. Like we’ve been away on holiday, and they’ve missed us majorly (well, we kind of have).

I then go up to order, and the girl behind the counter is the regular who takes the coffee orders most times I’m there. I say with a smile

“Hi, can I get a large cap with 1 sugar?”

And she’s looking at me with the slightest hint of a smile, but there is something more there, something I can’t quite detect yet. Slight squinting of the eyes, firm look of concentration, she takes a coffee cup and starts to write on it with no hesitation from the moment I’ve spoken.

“SmikG.” It’s more a statement than a question.

I nod and go to hand over my coffee card so she can stamp it, suddenly aware that she hasn’t yet seen the name on the coffee card… so how did she remember my name, when I haven’t been there in weeks, and I might frequent the cafe only once a week?

I walk away in slight shock and awe, and wait ’til my colleague orders his cap before I converse excitedly.

“How did she know my name?”

“Maybe she saw your pass.”

I look down. My name tag is swaying above my hips. She couldn’t have seen it, not from the large cash register that had been in between us and obstructing our bottom-half view from one another. No way.

“How did she do that?” I go on. “She must be one of those mind game people, you know they read you psychologically, maybe she’s like that with names.”

We soon get our coffees and leave to more lovely well wishes and sweet goodbyes. I am actually really appreciative that not only are they so amazing and friendly, their coffee is great, but also the coffee order gal tries her damn hardest to remember everyone’s name, and she somehow remembered mine!

I am still in awe. This from a girl who is shocking with names. Really. She is my hero.

Then we slowed the pace because it was a gloriously sunny morning, and watched some rowers and boats along the water, wishing we too were boarding the grand old thing with the pensioners. Oh well, one day.

To Blended Beard, and Boats. And name remember-ers. I salute you.

imag2845

One thought on “#330 Blended Beard, & Boats

Leave a Reply

