#333 Bunnings

I never thought Bunnings could be a place that women could enjoy, until I had a house of my own.

I mean, what did I need to do with nails? Other than paint them?

Electrical appliances were only for the kitchen and bathroom, NOT the garage.

And ladders were only good for when I needed to climb up and get that other pair of pants.

However, over the years I’ve gained a newfound appreciation of the renovation giant, and only until we recently moved did I realise that I’ve really come to enjoy our Bunnings visits.

It may, or may not have to do with the fact that our house needs a massive makeover, and every time I walk into the store, just the vision of how our house could be like gets me all excited. Just saying.

It’s not like I’m any kind of handy-woman. But as I just walk there, like a project manager, pointing to things while Hubbie picks them up and baby girl puts them in her tiny trolley, well it is FUN.

There is so much that you can do to a house, I think even experienced handymen would find it overwhelming at times when venturing into a Bunnings store, what with all the choices on offer. It’s just amazing what you can find. I find myself getting inspiration for future projects while there, and also find myself realising we need to renovate things in our house that I didn’t yet EVEN KNOW we had to renovate.

Because Hubbie ends up with the task of actually doing all the home improvements, I walk around beside him as a kind of cheerleader, urging him on and creating all kinds of wonderful visions for our future home.

“Give me a doorstop!”

“Give me some cement nails!”

“Give me a hose stand!”

“Give me some hallway sensors!”

Meanwhile baby girl careens around dangerously with her little trolley, Bunnings balloon in one hand, only allowing us to put into “her” trolley what she finds acceptable. We end up with tiny objects in her trolley, while Hubbie and I walk around with arms full of stuff.

Today in particular, my cheerleading tune was like this:

“Give me a tent!”

“Give me some lightbulbs!”

“Give me a shower head!”

“Give me a plunger!”

(The plunger is a ‘in case of emergency’ item… don’t ask how the motivation to buy it came about).

And although we buy these items a lot faster than it takes to actually implement and integrate them into our home (those doorstops we bought over a month ago are still in the laundry), the fact of the matter is we feel we are doing something, and eventually, we will get to everything. But hopefully, the plunger is never, EVER used. Ever.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

