#354 Cinnamon Plums with French Toast

There’s nothing like a warm, fulfilling and sweet breakfast to start your Sunday morning. And when I prepared the cinnamon plums days ago, little did I know that on the day I would be eating them, the weather, cold and grey and windy, would be especially inviting for the meal.

All the better.

I love this Nigella Lawson recipe that I first had the pleasure of experimenting with last year, when I was trying to work out what to do with all these plums my parents and MIL were giving to me. Because they were from their yards, or the yards of someone they knew, I really wanted to put them to good and proper use, and salvage the natural and chemical-free aspects of the fruit, making them shine in a truly special way.

I loved the Nigella recipe, because the use of plums was

  1. simple
  2. was in conjunction with another fave meal of mine (French toast), and
  3. was able to be frozen

That was a BIG positive. With a fair bit of plum compote made from the one batch, I was happy that not even that would go to waste, as I could freeze any remains and easily defrost for use on a future Sunday.

imag3112

It really is a good Sunday morning breakfast meal.

I made the compote on Thursday, before freezing it and defrosting it overnight. It worked a treat, and anything that is delicious and the prep is fast and simple, well I’M ALL FOR.

And if you want the recipe… well, you know the drill.

One thought on “#354 Cinnamon Plums with French Toast

Leave a Reply

