#355 A Frozen morning

Mornings at our household, even when work or appointments or commitments are not in the near horizon, are usually spent in the ‘keep-on-going-on,-going-on,-going-on’ stage.

Meaning it just keeps going on. In fact there is NO STAGE. We are in constant movement of not dawdling, ‘we-are-done-here-onto-the-next-thing,’ ‘let’s-not-waste-time-let’s-fill-up-our-days-with-as-much-productivity-as-we-can-muster,’ type thing.

We don’t give ourselves much chance to rest.

But today, it was cold. And baby girl wanted to watch some more Frozen. She has been really getting into the popular kids movie lately, and I don’t lie one bit when I say that when she is singing Let It Go, I’m actually finding it adorable.

I pressed play on the DVD player and it picked up where she last left off in the film. We sat in front of the TV, eating brekkie. And although I’ve seen bits of the film, and I know the ending, I happened to see the last 3o minutes of the film uninterrupted, as baby girl and I munched on butter and vegemite on toast, and I found my analytical switch, first awoken  by my Media Studies course back in my uni days, immediately turning itself on to critique, and discover, ‘just what was good about this film?’

I found, I really liked it. It actually is a great kids movie. It even made me almost cry at the end, at a most poignant moment, that made me initially go “woah – heavy much for kids?”

Of course any heaviness displayed in a Disney movie is short-lived. And I admit, I am that Mum, who will be the one instigating any animated films I take baby girl to in the future, because I LOVE THEM SO MUCH, but still….

I thought this movie was pretty great. And I found myself relishing the change in routine.

I didn’t push myself onto the next task, with my keen eye on the clock, getting baby girl on to hurry up, and rushing us out the door.

No. I let myself sink into the couch, I allowed my analytical switch to stay on as I simultaneously enjoyed this movie, and I glanced outside at the cloudy, windy weather, the branches on the trees outside being thrown about, and I thought

‘No thanks. I’ll stay here a while longer.’

I’d rather deal with MY Frozen, than that Frozen.

Leave a Reply

