#372 Getting used to the burn

Last week following my Zumba home workout, and my short ab crunching spell that was in line with something I had seen in an online video by a health instructor, I felt elated. Full of energy. Excited at this new start, this new me, and this new version of SmikG that got to have ‘her time,’ when baby girl was at kinder.

More of me was coming back, baby.

But. Then I got tired. Sleepy. Flat. I hadn’t exercised in a long time, in terms of exercise you do when you are doing repeated steps in order to feel burn in certain places. The type of exercise where I am run off my feet with baby girl and house tasks, sure, I freaking excel at.

But an actual workout? Nah. The closest thing had been pre-natal yoga, 4 years ago.

I had felt the burn alright. In my tummy. Below my buttocks. I was a bit dismayed that I felt so tired following it, that I didn’t quite know what to expect today.

Well. I’ve been trying to do my ab crunches where I can in the last week. And then as I took out my trusty Zumba dvd again today, completing one workout… I finished feeling… FINE.

Ok, I thought. Time to do the online video from my phone.

I copied the short sequence of movements, lasting a few minutes.

I felt the ab burn ALRIGHT, HARD. But still… I felt FINE.

I was waiting for it. And waiting for it. I thought I knew what was to come…

‘Now I’ll feel tired and screwed for the rest of the day.’

And yet surprisingly, happily, I didn’t. I didn’t feel tired. Weak. I went about the rest of my time, running around the house doing various tasks, and feeling invigorated. I felt GREAT!

Sure, I feel pretty tired now. I haven’t stopped all day. But I am so happy that I didn’t get that flat feeling following my workout like I did last week, as it allowed me to  go through my day with boundless energy, and a strong sense of grabbing life by the balls and saying “Hey YOU!  I’m in charge today!”

And I sure was. All because I’m getting used to the burn 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

