#376 Observation while packing a bag of potatoes…

If anyone can find the above title anywhere on the world wide web, well I’ll… I’ll eat a whole bag of potatoes.

When an older woman, or one that has long-since passed the toddler stage, says that a moment I’m sharing with baby girl, that is oblivious to me, is actually a lovely moment, I take note. I just know, automatically, without doubt, SHE IS RIGHT. I don’t question her one bit. I stopped that, a long time ago.

Today a woman noticed I was having a sweet moment with baby girl.

To me, it was just a normal moment.

I was grocery shopping with baby girl. Often, she likes to help pack the plastic bags with whatever fruit/vegetable we need. We had already put about 8 apples in one bag; now we were on to the potatoes.

I took the bag, holding it open, and passed her a potato of my choice from the high display, to her hand below.

“Here you go.”

She took the potato from my hand and plopped it in the bag.

“Here’s another one.”

Again, she took the potato from my hand, adding this one to the bag.

This continued until we had about 7 potatoes. I lay the bag in the trolley as I tied it up, looking up to see a woman standing by, waiting to access the area I was blocking off.

“Sorry!” I said, moving forward and pushing the trolley onwards.

“That’s ok,” she replied with a smile. “It’s actually quite nice to watch.”

She nodded towards baby girl, and I smiled.

“Thank you, that’s very sweet of you.”

I moved off, feeling proud as punch. What an awesome Mum I was.

She was also there when a moment later baby girl had a hissy fit because I placed her kinder surprise incorrectly in the trolley: it was a millimetre away from the bag of capsicums, instead of being directly aside the bag of capsicums.

Sorry baby girl, I was a whole millimetre off.

😉

So today, a woman noticed I was having a sweet moment with baby girl.

To me, it was just a normal moment.

But from now on, I will never pack potatoes the same way again.

Gratitude in my heart, always 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

