#397 A forever spot on my lap

It’s the little things…

As baby girl grabbed my outstretched arm and tore me down into the rumpus, promptly telling me to “sit” on the floor, I could only wonder at what she had in store for me. For us.

She grabbed the remotes and plonked herself on my lap, as if I were a trampoline. She pressed a few buttons, and scurried herself further into my lap, cosying herself deep just like a joey would find comfort in her mother’s pouch. She grabbed my arm and wrapped it around her body, for extra support.

And so we began to watch Frozen. We watched a few scenes, and since I’ve never watched it from start to end, rather just heard bits and pieces from the movie here and there as I did stuff around the house, I found it interesting to watch some key scenes: as I conveyed this, I could sense baby girl’s intense pride at ‘Mum taking notice.’

Soon enough though, she was up and off my lap again, re-enacting the scene in front of us as it played out, of Anna singing to her sister through a closed door “Do You Want To Build a Snowman?” I watched in amusement as she acted this all out, shyly yet very happily, and I showered her with praise. Once that song was over, back on my lap she went, cuddling up again.

…that are in fact, the big things.

You might be able to tell, if you frequent this space often, that I write quite a bit about baby girl, and the grateful moments I have with her, by watching her grow, joining in with her fun, and taking pleasure in these precious moments of her youth.

And it comes to stand, that although parenthood is full of trial and tribulation, with more than its fair share of headaches, anxiety, stress and uncertainty, it is something that gives the biggest payback. It is something that gives, in and of itself.

Baby girl is the light of our life. She is a little thing, but she is in fact, the BIGGEST THING.

 

Leave a Reply

