#484 Half-day Happiness

Today, in our fair state of Victoria, we had what’s known as The Queens Birthday public holiday.

It always falls on a Monday, usually I think, the second one of June. It usually has the majority of workers staying at home, giving a well-deserved and much-needed long weekend break from the already overwhelming Melbourne Winter that really started months earlier.

However there are those unfortunate ones, who work at shopping centres, or at petrol stations, and other almost 24/7 establishments, that don’t get a day off on that day.

Instead, they get overtime 😉

One such person to get this, is Hubbie.

Now usually, my primary concern is days off, NEVER the ‘mula.’ As it is we only ever get one day off a week together, and sometimes that day becomes a big, fat ZERO. None. Nada. Nista. We are much too busy enjoying life and going out and drinking coffee like the true coffee snobs we are, and putting $2 coins into every shopping centre ride baby girl wants, than to worry about ‘money.’

However. Things aren’t now as they always used to be. We have a mortgage. We want to renovate the house (and we keep finding things that need renovating too), and then there are the unplanned for payments, like teeth that need to be removed and replaced, and what-not.

So, both Hubbie and I were glad for once, that he was working today.

I thought I would be cool; I thought I would be happy. And I was. When I saw him for lunch though (he drives home since it is so close) I felt a bit sad that he was going to be heading back to work soon, and it would be hours ’til baby girl and I saw him again. Sure, I could go out. But it was so grey and dreary, drizzly and uninviting outside of the windows, that home was the only place I could imagine being.

And yet, it was simultaneously making me depressed about being on my own.

Yeah. You know all those posts I wrote recently about being sooooo happy to have downtime and be on my own? I think it’s already worn off. So when about 30 minutes after Hubbie headed back, I got a message from him, my spirits started to lift.

‘I’M NOT STAYING ‘TIL SIX.’ (Various happy and celebratory emojis followed)

I, was rapt. WE, were rapt. And when he walked through the door, just before 3pm, baby girl and I did a huge “YAY!”

Gratitude comes often when your expectations are low, and when you practice being grateful in the midst of what you do not have. Case in point today. It’s the little things, but they sure did make our afternoon a very sweet one 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

