#510 Lah Lah’s band has heart

I am really fortunate today that I have a lot to be grateful for. But to keep things nice and easy at this super late hour of 1:16am (late because I have to be up at 6:30am tomorrow morning, only hours away – photos will explain why in due course) I will pick the first thing I was grateful for today… and that was, the heart and soul of Lah Lah’s Big Live Band.

IMAG4721

Now, they may not have as many followers or as public a profile as that other well-known children’s group, The Wiggles, but I don’t think they are trying to be like them, either. They are about educating children through music, and expressing their passion for singing, as well as bringing to light the real music-makers – the instruments.

We haven’t seen Lah Lah in a while, and it’s not a regular DVD that baby girl watches at home, though she knows most of the songs fairly well. They have catchy tunes that are super-cute and stick in your head: like the much appreciated “Brush your teeth, up and down, brush your teeth, round and round,” song about that task we all BEG our children to do, which they have helped us through song; the ‘Sneezy song’ which baby girl and I especially love, about their accordion player sneezing oh too much! and playing a lovely little solo piece with his beloved instrument throughout; and then that cheeky song that Lah Lah sings, “I like to wash my hands and wipe them on my pants” – great, thanks sooo much Lah Lah.

All in all they are pretty awesome, and baby girl and I happily headed off to another beach location to see them this morning.

And she was rapt, and she danced, and she made friends with other random kids bopping along near the stage… but above all what made my heart melt, was seeing again just how much they give back to the kids.

It’s a tradition of theirs to hang back after their performance is finished, and come down from the stage to let the children have a go at looking and touching their instruments, or having a much-anticipated photo with their favourite band member… or all 5 of them if they can’t decide.

And so it was, again. We had no plans initially to partake in any of it, as all the other times before we saw them, baby girl was younger and not too fussed about getting up close and personal with The Band. But today when I asked her if she wanted to meet anyone, she told me passionately that she wanted to give a hug and kiss to Lah Lah.

And who am I to say no to an adorable almost 4 year-old in stripy socks?

After 45 minutes of doing the rounds, we had photos with ALL 5 MEMBERS of the band. I couldn’t believe it myself. We just kind of floated from one to another, and went here, went there, played some drums here, and then some strings on the cello there, pressed buttons on the saxophone and posed alongside Mr Squeezy, along with the cream of the crop position, a photo sitting on Lah Lah’s lap.

They are a kids group, they make kids happy and smile and dance and sing with their songs, but to give back so wholeheartedly and happily to those who look up to them so, giving so much more when they have already provided endless entertainment and learning and happiness to their young fans, and also giving when that recipient today was my baby girl… well I was truly happy and grateful indeed. Thanks guys.

IMAG4717

 

Leave a Reply

