#528 Motherly Moments no. 2

2 in a row.

I am settling her for bed.

“Mama, one more blanket.”

Our heater has died. Bad enough when it was working, the Winter chill would creep in immediately as soon as the warm air had stopped flowing, but now, there was no warm air at all to blow and warm the house at an even level, bar the little portable heaters that have been placed in a few strategic corners around the place, bringing warm pockets to generally icy cool areas.

I take another thin blanket that I keep beside her bed. There is actually a stack of about 8, of varying thickness that reside here on a permanent basis, but with the onslaught of Winter, this pile has now dropped to 4, with the heap on her bed rising instead.

Dropped to 3.

I lay it across her, making sure all the blankets are evenly spread across her, and there are no open areas to bring cold air into her bed.

“Thank you Mama.”

Oh, clutch my heart.

“No worries Princess. I love you baby girl.”

Big hugs and kisses ensue from both of us as I bend down for more affection.

She holds me in a firm bear hug.

Eventually we part, and I go to take post at the end of her bed, until she falls asleep.

She waves to me.

“Goodnight Mama.”

“Goodnight honey, I love you princess.”

“Goodnight Mama, I love you.”

Kill me now and I’ll die happy.

Oh that girl pulls at the heart strings.

♥♥♥

 

 

Leave a Reply

