#529 Dancing with Daddy

It’s become the norm that we like to surprise baby girl with presents. Hubbie even goes as far as stopping at a petrol station or a supermarket on his way home from work, just to get her a little something. Even after a 10-hour work day, he will still make a detour, for her.
I am constantly waging war and proclaiming that her plastic toys are on the out, telling her that she is to have no more toys (until her birthday) and then of course, she will be away at kinder like today, and I just can’t help myself. I have to buy her something.
It’s always little things. When we are out and about I have a rule: one chocolate, or one toy – pick wisely. She accepts this well. Too bad I don’t.
Today I bought her a bit of both.
Aside from her kinder surprise egg, the toy was one of those Disney Princess toys, the lucky dip ones in a plastic packet concealing their image, so that in trying to collect the lot you end up with several multiples of the same figurine. She only has Tinkerbell in this particular collection, and from the feel of the packet, I guessed it was Cinderella.
When she got home from kinder, she found the packet and opened it excitedly. She had guessed at Snow White. Turns out we were both wrong – it was Belle from Beauty and the Beast. She was rapt, regardless.
Of course she had to watch the movie after dinner. I put it on, and she soon told me she wanted the yellow dress bit, where Belle is dancing in the grand ballroom with the Beast and they are getting all loved up. The figurine has Belle in the fancy dress, so yeah, let’s cut to the chase.
I watched her expression as Belle and the Beast danced around the ballroom. She smiled and pressed her chin against her shoulder, going “awww.”
“Do they love each other?” I asked, fascinated by her correct interpretation.
“Yeah.”
Later on when the credits were rolling, the classic theme song came on again. She imitated slow dancing, and now Hubbie was in the room too.
“Why don’t you slow dance?” I asked her. “With your first Prince?”
She looked shyly/cheekily up at her Dad, the way she does when she is going to say no regardless of the question. “No.”
“Ok, we’ll show you.” I got up and we swayed three times in each other’s arms, before she was yelling, as predicted – “me me me me me!”
I stepped aside, grinning. She walked into her Dad, gave him a hug/embrace with her arms at his, and then moved in tune with him to the music, like a complete pro. She then looked up at him with a bright smile, happy and adoring and all LOVE. It was the most innocent, sweet, wide-eyed and beautiful smile I had ever seen.
“Awww,” said her Dad. “You’re a princess.”
Meanwhile I could not speak. I was a bubbling idiot, almost choking on my tears from the beauty of it all. I managed an “oh my God,” my heart bursting from the heart-exploding scene before me.
A girl’s first love, a girl’s first Prince. A baby girl and her Daddy. My loves. ♥♥♥
Leave a Reply

