#2530 That’s my (singing) girl

Today was a big day, more so for baby girl. She had a friends birthday, and then we all went to a wedding in the afternoon.

The day was beautiful in every way. But there was a particular moment in the night that had me grinning like a Cheshire cat.

Towards the end of the night the band left their musical posts to have a break, and some people, being a little loose and happy and brave, ventured up to the mics to talk, sing and entertain the crowd.

Baby girl got excited, and joined in.

At first I was like ‘stop,’ because she was kinda yelling at the beginning. Like, if you’re gonna talk in a mic, don’t yell, it’s loud as it is… but as she watched the other people comment in the mic and sing along to the backing songs, she started to do the same.

I let it go. I watched her “ooh, ooh” along, make comments, get embarrassed every time in between, BUT… come back for more.

I was fascinated. I was fascinated because she has expressed an interest in singing and dancing for a little bit now, but I think the thought of performing also makes her very nervous.

And here she was, in front of a room full of people, singing along to Paul Simon’s “Call me Al.” 🤦‍♀️🤣

It was beautiful to watch. I think she thought I was going to tell her to stop again, but instead I took out my camera and took as many snaps as I could.

It might just be a kid thing, wanting to hear her voice amplified, sure… but you know, with a lot of these things, you just never know.

I will always be there, encouraging and cheerleading for her, just in case.

And her dancing, my God I was impressed. The times she was on the dancefloor tonight was the biggest joy to watch. Even though my extra weight was bearing down on my heels, so many times I got up just so I could dance with her.

My girl. My singing girl. My dancing girl. My growing up girl who I love watching every, single, time, and every, single, day.

😍😍

Leave a comment