#659 Setting up the Tree – 4 year old Baby Girl edition

Ok, enough tears and doom and gloom and all round SAP.

I woke today, with determination. ZEST. And most importantly…

Festive Spirit. Because it was the 4th day of December, and this most greatest lover of Christmas did not have her Christmas tree up and decorated!

The insanity.

In my defence, I did BEGIN last week when it was late-November, when I laid down the foundations to the main tree, and baby girl’s tree…

You see, I take hours, even days to get it all done properly – because, OCD. I set up the basis, the branches first. And then I go back to lights, decorations, and then there is a condition known as Perfect Ornament Placement Disorder…. yep.

And then I decorate the house. Banners, Christmas paraphernalia, little lights, Santas in all forms… I am NOT like those people who post their trees on facebook. They have one tree in the corner of their living room with some tinsel and three kinds of same-shaped baubles in varying colours from the same 20 pack box they bought at Kmart.

No. The Christmas decorating is an artform. The Christmas decorating is a tradition. The Christmas decorating, is an experience.

So today in true festive spirit, I donned the traditional Christmas decorating hat (really just a Santa hat but it’s become the norm now) and put on SIA’s latest Christmas album (by the by, AMAZING) and got cracking.

I must admit, the hat got in the way as I was winding the lights around the tree, and for all of 5 seconds I removed it… and then I asked myself “do you like Christmas, or are you a scrooge?” and I put the hat back on, irritating or NOT.

Then some more SIA vibes wore off on me as I went on decorating

until it was baby girl’s turn. See I had the most fabulous idea months earlier, when lo and behold in said Kmart (I never said they weren’t good) I came across a mini Christmas tree… and the Christmas lover in me, clapped her hands excitedly and with much joy at the prospect of a special tree just for baby girl’s room.

I didn’t need to encourage or convince her, AT ALL.

So we got cracking on her one too. I already had some baubles I don’t use anymore (i.e. I got over-excited one year as all Christmas-mad people do, and bought too many baubles before deciding on my Christmas tree colour scheme… yep, the colours are super important) and as well as some other special pieces and a bauble she picked the other day from the shops, she got to it. (She had to wear ‘the hat too… for all of 2 minutes it lasted).

When she was done, I said “baby girl stand next to the tree.”

NEXT TO.

This:

IMAG7220

She cracks me up.

Once a couple of hours had passed, I was fairly pleased with our efforts.

Never mind the house is a complete pig-sty and our fridge is in our lounge room because LONG DRAWN OUT KITCHEN RENOS, but who’s mad, frustrated, pissed off? NOT ME NOT ME NOT ME.

No, we are festive and Christmas-ready, and that’s ALL that matters.

 

One thought on “#659 Setting up the Tree – 4 year old Baby Girl edition

Leave a comment